Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Kayden will hardly ever remember what just happened in his life.

I’m not saying that Kayden has short term memory or anything. In fact he has a pretty good memory. But since he is constantly moving and jumping to the next activity he hardly takes time to recall what he just did, or to take mental note of what was happening. Even after something really fun happened it takes some coaxing to help him remember it.

case in point: after a day at the zoo or doing sports at his club I will ask him what he did or what his favorite activity was and his answer will always be “I don’t know” or “I don’t remember”. Then I will start describing the things that I saw him doing and it will start coming back to him and he will tell me all about what happened and what he liked and the things that stood out to him etc.

But it always seems like I have to give him that little push mentally to get him to recall what happened. I don’t think there is anything mentally wrong with him, in case any of you are thinking that, I am just fascinated that Kayden lives so much in the moment that the past is the past and he doesn’t really dwell on it much. ha!

Like I said in the beginning of my post, Kayden has an excellent memory and will randomly describe things that happened years ago to us in surprising detail. These occurrences are pretty random though, and if you ask him about it when his mind is not thinking about it you will get that blank stare and the same answers he usually gives, “I don’t know…I don’t remember”.

